The Lord Proprietors
The Lords Proprietors were the eight Englishmen granted "Carolina" by King Charles II by charter in 1663 and 1665. 

North Carolina and South Carolina were later split in 1719 following a colonial revolt.   At that time, rule of the colony returned to the Crown.  The change became formal by an act of Parliament in 1729.

  • The Earl of Clarendon
  • The Duke of Albemarle
  • The Earl of Craven
  • Lord Berkeley
  • Lord Ashley
  • Sir George Carteret
  • Sir John Colleton
  • Sir William Berkeley
Located in a special collecton at the University of South Carolina .